Gratitude

Numerous studies show that people who regularly express gratitude for the things and people in their lives are happier, less stressed, and have higher self-esteem. And in studies asking people to write and read a gratitude letter aloud to its recipient, participants reported immediate increases in happiness and decreases in depressive symptoms. ~ happify.com

Okay, so here goes.

Photo Credit:  Sandi Yee

Photo Credit: Sandi Yee

My Dear Daughter,

Thank you for bringing true joy into my life.

From the moment you were born, you have been the constant light that shines in our house.

I appreciate how much love, support and effort you always give to everyone in around you.

Your compassion when I am ill keeps me sane, and gives me comfort by showing me how much you care. The sweet sound of your voice melts my heart, I would do anything to hear you call me Mommy. Your little hands holding mine give me strength and determination to be the best that I can be, to give the best that I can give, and to do all that I can do to make this world a better place for you.

You inspire me to be a better person, because you are pure and uncorrupt.

I see the best of humanity in you.

I see the best of me in you.

You are a wonderful reminder everyday that I have done something truly remarkable, by giving the world the delight that is you.

Thank you for loving me.

Thank you for being in my life.

And lastly, thank you for being the best reason to live for, your love.

I love you.

9 thoughts on “Gratitude

  1. It is a lovely post. But I wonder that the level of gratitude can also become a burden on you. Because of the pressures of life and the amount of love for a child – this will add to the stress of a depressed person – unintentionally they can become burdens.

    Like

    • Yes, having a family does increase the pressures of life, financially, emotionally, and physically. I can go on for days about all the sleepless nights, the tears, the frustrations, and the guilt of being a mom. But there is also pure love and true joy that a child brings by virtue of their innocence and devotion.

      The alternative, James, is childlessness and being alone. That, for me would make me give up faster than anything else that life throws at me. I’ll pay the price of added stressors for the love and joy of my children. I hope you have love and joy in your life too, in whatever form you can find it. Take care of yourself friend.

      Like

Leave a Reply

