How do I love me? Let me count the ways…

Love-yourself1

Image Courtesy: alisina.org

How is it that it is so hard to love ourselves?

Our hearts are limitless in our capacity to love others.  We can add on countless children, siblings, pets, friends, lovers, and still we would have room for more.

But what of ourselves?

How do we love ourselves?  How do we know that we love ourselves?

Is it the respect we give to ourselves, that we stand up for ourselves and not allow ourselves to be taken advantage of?

Is it the little things that we do to spoil ourselves, little indulgences of Godiva chocolates, ice cream sundaes, spa days, diamond earrings just because?

We know how it is to love someone; spouse, children, parents, friends.  We feel warmth and joy in our heart, we smile with tenderness, we touch with affection.

Yeah… No.

None of these feelings apply when we look to ourselves.  Our hearts do not fill with tenderness and joy when we look in the mirror.  More likely it is quite another strong emotion we’re feeling all together.

What does it mean to love ourselves?

Perhaps it is in the kindness that we allow ourselves.

Perhaps we can show ourselves love by being kind to our heart, by being kind to our sensitivities.  We can be less harsh in our self-criticism.  We can forgive our flaws, forgive our mistakes, and accept them, because that is what we would do with people whom we love.

In the pursuit of happiness, there are countless advice and daily “happy” quotes to inspire us to love ourselves, to prompt us to focus on what we love about ourselves, rather than focus on the negative.

Thus, in an effort to establish how to love myself, this poem is an exercise in learning to do just that.

How do I love me? Let me count the ways…

How do I love me? Let me count the ways…
I love me with compassion and empathy,
To allow myself to be flawed, to be free
Of lingering doubt
That I deserve, that I am worthy. 

Image Courtesy:  Sandi Yee

Image Courtesy: Sandi Yee

I love me for my heart,  
For my art,
That I create,
That I relate,
To those in a state
Of despair and self-hate.

I love me enough to kind,
When I speak in my mind
To myself.
I love me for my truth,
For my authenticity,
I wear for everyone to see.

I love me for the strength
I have gained, at the length
I have traveled,
To have finally come through the dark,
To make my mark
And let the world know I am here.

Written by Sandi Yee – September 30, 2014

A bit egotistical?  A little.
Do I feel better?  Teeheeheehee…Yes, I think I do. 😀

Poem concept and title credit to Miss Elizabeth Barrett Browning 1806-1861

9 thoughts on “How do I love me? Let me count the ways…

    • Thank you for the feedback, therabbitholez. Learning to love oneself is the hardest thing for many of us to do, for we are our own harshest critic. Would that we all could easily do so.
      Cheers!

      Like

  1. What a great poem. I need to print off this off & put it on my fridge, (or tape it to my bathroom mirror, so every time I brush my teeth I can read it.) We need to remember to surround ourselves with these positive messages, so when the day is gloomy, they’re easily accessible. This is a great message.

    Like

  2. Love this. I am going to reblog. I really needed to read this today. When things start going good for me I start doubting myself and those negative thoughts start creeping in. Thank you for today’s post.

    Like

  3. So true. “We know how it is to love someone; spouse, children, parents, friends. We feel warmth and joy in our heart, we smile with tenderness, we touch with affection. Yeah… No. None of these feelings apply when we look to ourselves. Our hearts do not fill with tenderness and joy when we look in the mirror. More likely it is quite another strong emotion we’re feeling all together.” I believe if those we loved didn’t take us for granted, and truly loved us back, our hearts would fill with tenderness and joy when we look in the mirror. But you’re right. Loving others will not always guarantee being loved back. We have to love ourselves for ourselves. Most time the others we love are doing just that… loving themselves at all expense.

    Like

Leave a Reply

