The Top Reasons for this Blog

IMG_2152

Photo Courtesy: Andrew Witwicki, Age 13


“My dream is to make writing my career.  This site will be a public forum in which I hope to connect with the world by sharing the experiences of my illness, my struggle with Clinical Depression, and winning the daily battle against the darkness.”


I have always expressed myself through writing, having kept a private journal since I was knee-high to a grasshopper. Writing for me was and is therapeutic, there was no one to judge me, grading my words, editing my thoughts, or censoring my ideas. With written words, I was able to pour my heart out, create fantasy, or indulge in nostalgia. I have shared this gift with my children, showing them that the ability to press themselves through words is simply normal and healthy.

Writing kept me sane when my world was full of turbulence and darkness. My journal was my dearest friend, ever ready to take on my angst, my doubts, my mistakes, my anger, my pain.  So too was my dearest friend always there to remind me of the good ole days, the wonderful moments of love, and the sweet tenderness and joy of motherhood, on the days when things were not so sweet, tender or wonderful.

This site will not be my private journal, but a public forum in which I hope to connect with the world by sharing the experiences of my illness, my struggle with Clinical Depression, and winning the daily battle against the darkness.

footprint in sand by

Photo Courtesy: Instagram user @jwmarshall

It is my hope that with this blog, I can create more awareness of the gravity and prevalence of this disease, and reach those who struggle as I have, to give a sense of comfort and kinship, so that they’ll know they are not alone in the irrational world of this illness.

I expect to still be writing this blog in a year’s time, and to have reached at least 15,000 readers, who visit me to find validation, inspiration, comfort, or maybe just a little humor.

My dream is to make writing my career, and touch people’s lives with my stories, my musings, my lessons, my words. I want to bring hope on a hopeless day. I want to shine a light into the gloom, when the darkness threatens.

That shall be my footprint in the sands of time.

12 thoughts on “The Top Reasons for this Blog

  1. I too have struggled for years through Clinical Depression. It is liberating to be able to talk openly about something that sadly remains a taboo subject in our culture. I embarked on my blogging journey to give voice to one of the biggest contributors to my depression through the years, the trials of being an infertile, adoptive family. In the six or so weeks of writing, it has helped tremendously! Hopefully, you experience the same. I look forward to reading more!

    Like

    • Thank you chicken2003, for your kind comments and sharing your own struggle. Indeed, I feel liberated to be able to talk openly about my illness and daily battle with depression. My heart goes with you in your journey and healing. Please tune in to share in mine. Love and Light, Sandi

      Like

  2. Hi! I like your post…I just joined Blogging 101 too. Your writing flows well, and I like that you use short paragraphs (impt in the blogging world, I think.) You can help many through sharing what you have been through with depression…I think having a deeper sense of purpose behind what you are writing will help in your success.

    Like

    • Thank you andreale4691, I appreciate your comments and feedback on the blog. That deeper sense of purpose in my writing is indeed fulfilling. Cheers and good luck with your blog, great start!

      Like

Leave a Reply

